HOW I LOST 35 POUNDS IN 90 DAYS

Screen Shot 2016-05-01 at 12.13.53 AM

Back in 2013, I lost 35 pounds in 90 days. Here’s how I did it.

  1. I had to mentally prepare myself.

Before I started, I mentally prepared myself that if I wanted lasting results I had to work hard for it. I had to accept that it won’t happen overnight. I made it a point to even miss out on birthdays and special occasions. Anything that would tempt me to eat bad or drink alcohol I had to miss.(Hi Rox!) There were times when I would check my Instagram feed and see that all my friends were out partying the night away and I would feel  really bad, but I would constantly tell myself that I will benefit from all my sacrifices and that it would be worth it in the end.

2. Meal Prep

Meal prepping plays such a big role if you want to live a healthy lifestyle. If you prepare your meals in advance, you are less likely to cheat. Before I started my 90 days, I researched on Pinterest on simple recipes I could cook on my own as I was still in college at the time and I was living in Taft.

smoothie

breakfast

For breakfast I would usually have greek yogurt with chia seeds, banana, rolled oats and granola. But on days when I was in a rush I would make myself a smoothie. The good thing about smoothies is you can make it as “personal” as you want. Just be sure to add 1 fruit, 1 vegetable ( I recommend spinach or malunggay ), water or coconut water or almond milk and chia seeds. ( will post my smoothie recipes soon as well! )

IMG_9124 copy

IMG_2795 copy

I ate the same thing for lunch and dinner everyday and somehow I did not get sick of it. I had salmon patties, a chickpea tuna egg combo ( will post the recipe soon ) with veggies, black rice/ quinoa and my fave, Sriracha. I knew  I needed my protein ( which helps muscle recovery), Carbohydrates ( black rice which has only 1 gram of sugar ) and vegetables of course.

3. Exercise Regularly

I made it a point to workout 6 days a week with one rest day. I was enrolled at Gold’s Gym Alabang at the time and luckily they had a lot of group classes I could join. I got hooked on spinning class and I would go almost everyday! You burn almost 800 calories per spinning class. I would mix up my workouts by alternating cardio and weights. I would occasionally go boxing as well ( my favorite workout actually)

gym

gym12

gym13.jpg

4. Cheat Meals

During my 90 days, I never had a cheat meal. I think that was a mistake on my part. Cheat meals can actually  be beneficial for you. When you eat healthy and when you eat the same thing everyday, your body gets used to it. Cheat meals can be used as motivation as well. It can actually boost your metabolism. But take note, cheat MEAL not cheat day ha. I also have to note that you must have “SMART” cheat meals. It still has to be in moderation. If you want pizza, have a slice not a whole box. If you want a Mcdonald’s meal, don’t make it Go big time ( large ) just get regular sized fries.

5. Stay Hydrated

I made sure to bring a jug of water with me everyday. I would add lemon or orange slices ( please try! ) to my water and somehow it made me feel like I was drinking juice. I noticed I drank more water when I added slices of fruit in it. I recommend strawberries as well!

6. Supplements

I took supplements in the latter part of my diet. Whey protein after intense workouts           (only when I felt like I deserved it ), I took bcaa pills before, during and after a workout.       (What’s good about Branched Chain Amino Acids is that it goes straight to your muscles once taken helping your muscles recover right away ). I also took fish oil every morning as it is filled with Omega-3 which aids in weight loss and has many other benefits as well!

IMG_7490.jpg

RESULTS:

results

FINALBEFOREAFTER

MARGA 1.jpg

MARGA2

 

A few months after my strict diet in 2013, I got into a relationship. ( I love you hefty! ) So I started eating again and had less time to exercise. 3 years later, I am glad to say i’m finally back on track and I have started my weight loss journey again about 3 weeks ago. I’m excited to share my results with you again and I promise to maintain it this time! 🙂

If you would like to see my weight loss journey,  follow me on:

snapchat: margabanaga

instagram: @margabanaga

twitter: margabanaga

facebook: https://www.facebook.com/margabanaga92/

 

5 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Aw Marga! Just in time– After my laparascopic appendectomy surgery in losing my appendix, I needed an inspiration to get back on track. Without realizing, I gained 37 pounds. Last time I consulted my PT my body age is 36. Ugh. So depressing. I really need some freaking motivation. Thanks for this! Keep it up Girl!

    Like

  2. Galing! So proud of you! Very inspirational (nuks) 😘

    Like

  3. Pat Rem aka Ramrem May 2, 2016 — 2:31 am

    DAMN MARGA YOU GO GIRL!!!!! I want those abs– I’ll go on the journey with you! Time to meal prep and shit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

